NCAA Women’s Basketball : LSU defeats Iowa to win title for the first time

NCAA Women’s Basketball : LSU defeats Iowa to win title for the first time

In Dallas, Texas, on Sunday, the LSU Tigers won their first NCAA women’s basketball national championship, defeating the Iowa Hawkeyes 102-85.

LSU shot a rankling 58% from the field in the primary half, including 75% from three-point range.

The Tigers’ 59 first half focuses set another standard for most focuses scored in a half in a ladies’ title game and gave LSU an important lead went to the storage space.

Jasmine Carson, who came off the bench to score 21 points for LSU in the first half, including a perfect five of five on three-pointers, sparked the Tigers’ first-half assault. Carson got done with 22 focuses to lead the Tigers.

Carson referred to the match as “surreal” afterward.

She stated, “Every player dreams of being on a big stage like this and having the game of your life, and for it to come to fruition – it meant a lot.”

LSU’s 102 focuses likewise set another standard for most focuses scored by a group in a ladies’ title game.

Caitlin Clark, a star player for Iowa, scored 30 of the game’s points, breaking the previous record for most in a women’s tournament with 191. The 2023 national player of the year surpassed the previous women’s record of 177 points, which was held by Texas Tech’s Sheryl Swoopes in 1993. Swoopes set the record by playing in five games, while Clark played six.

As she won LSU’s first women’s basketball championship in just her second season in charge of the Tigers, Hall of Fame coach Kim Mulkey was overcome with emotion in the final seconds of the game.

After winning her fourth NCAA women’s basketball national championship, Mulkey told ESPN, “Coaches coach a lifetime and this is the fourth time I’ve been blessed.” Mulkey had previously won three NCAA women’s basketball national championships while playing for Baylor.

“Never in the history of LSU basketball, men or women, have they ever played for a championship and to win it, I think my tears are tears of joy. I’m so happy for everyone back in Louisiana.”

The Tigers turned out to be only the third No. The first team since 1997 to win the title from the third seed.

LSU’s victory was celebrated by a crowd of 19,482 people; Over 350,000 people have attended the women’s March Madness, a record for the event, according to the NCAA.

Share This Post