The Circle feature of Elon Musk-owned X, previously Twitter, has been discontinued. The tool allowed users to exchange content solely with a specific group of people. It was the social network’s response to the “Close Friends” feature on Instagram.
On October 31, according to the company, users won’t be able to add people to their circles.
“X is deprecating Circles as of Oct 31st, 2023. After this date, you will not be able to create new posts that are limited to your Circle, nor will you be able to add people to your Circle. You will, however, be able to remove people from your Circle, by unfollowing them as described below,” according to X’s support page.
After the deadline, the business will continue to allow users to view their previous Circle posts.
The Circle feature was initially made available by Twitter in August 2022 following a brief beta testing period. The business allowed customers to add 150 members to their Circle. One Circle could only be made by a user.
Users began to notice that their Circle postings weren’t marked with a green flag earlier this year, leading them to believe that the post was sent to all of their followers. Despite the fact that this was nothing more than a scare tactic, users noticed that in April, some of their Circle postings began to show up on other users’ For You algorithmic timelines. The company acknowledged this problem as a “security incident” in May, warning that it might allow “users outside of your Twitter Circle” to view tweets from Circle users.
- Homeworld 3, a sci-fi RTS sequel, will be released in March - December 2, 2023
- Taylor Swift Will Receive Over $100 Million Just From Spotify In 2023 - December 2, 2023
- Google doodle celebrates the United Arab Emirates National Day - December 2, 2023