Gotham Awards 2023: “Past Lives” Wins Best Feature Title – Know Complete Winners List

Gotham Awards 2023: “Past Lives” Wins Best Feature Title – Know Complete Winners List

At tonight’s 33rd Gotham Awards in Manhattan, filmmaker Celine Song’s first feature film, A24’s Past Lives, took home the Best Feature trophy. See here for the complete list of winners from one of the first movie-kudos season.

The story of Past Lives centres on Greta Lee and Teo Yoo, two close childhood friends who are torn apart after Nora’s family leaves South Korea. Twenty years later, they reconvene for a single, fateful week during which they wrestle with ideas of fate and love. Song’s acceptance speech is as follows:

Lily Gladstone received the Outstanding Lead Performance award for Music Box Films’ The Unknown Country, not Killers of the Flower Moon (you can see her acceptance speech here), while Charles Melton won the Supporting category for Netflix’s May December (you can watch his speech here). The categories are both gender-neutral.

The first two prizes of the evening went to Neon’s Anatomy of a Fall, which was written by Justine Triet and Arthur Harari, for Best International Feature and Best Screenplay.

A.V. Rockwell, who was also nominated for Song, won the Breakthrough Director Award for Focus Features’ A Thousand and One. Next up for Best Documentary Feature was Kino Lorber’s Kaouther Ben Hania’s Four Daughters.

Following the fall festival joy, the October nominations and late-November ceremony serve as industry barometers as the awards season gets underway.

Interestingly, the first two small-screen prizes were won by Netflix’s Beef. Ali Wong took home the awards for Outstanding Performance in a New Series and Breakthrough Series-Under 40 Minutes. She won the gender-neutral award, defeating eight other contestants, including her co-star Steven Yuen.

A Small Light on National Geographic acquired the Gotham for Breakthrough Series – Over 40 Minutes.

Icon & Creator Tributes are a new category of prizes that were presented tonight at the 33rd annual event. They went to Killers of the Flower Moon, Ben Affleck as Air, George C. Wolfe as Rustin, Michael Mann as Ferrari, Greta Gerwig as Barbie, and Bradley Cooper as Maestro. View the acceptance speeches that are listed below the winners.

With no eligibility budget limitations for the first time in ten years, the Gothams ceremony was more star-studded than normal, with Ryan Gosling receiving a nomination for Barbie’s Supporting Performance and Penelope Cruz for Ferrari.

The largest change is the elimination of the ten-year budget cap for the Gothams, which was most recently set at $35 million. The Gotham Film & Media Institute stated in its announcement of the change last summer that it was intended “to broaden our reach in terms of recognition and accessibility to the wider community.” Numerous high-budget films, such as Oppenheimer, Napoleon, Killers of the Flower Moon, and The Colour Purple, declined to submit.

The 2023 Gotham Awards winners are listed below:

Best Feature

  • “Passages”
  • “Past Lives” – WINNER
  • “Reality”
  • “Showing Up”
  • “A Thousand and One”

Outstanding Lead Performance

  • Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor, “Origin”
  • Lily Gladstone, “The Unknown Country” – WINNER
  • Greta Lee, “Past Lives”
  • Franz Rogowski, “Passages”
  • Babetida Sadjo, “Our Father, The Devil”
  • Andrew Scott, “All of Us Strangers”
  • Cailee Spaeny, “Priscilla”
  • Teyana Taylor, “A Thousand and One”
  • Michelle Williams, “Showing Up”
  • Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”

Outstanding Supporting Performance

  • Juliette Binoche, “The Taste of Things”
  • Penélope Cruz, “Ferrari”
  • Jamie Foxx, “They Cloned Tyrone”
  • Claire Foy, “All of Us Strangers”
  • Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”
  • Glenn Howerton, “BlackBerry”
  • Sandra Hüller, “The Zone of Interest”
  • Rachel McAdams, “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret”
  • Charles Melton, “May December” – WINNER
  • Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers”

Best Screenplay

  • “All of Us Strangers,” Andrew Haigh
  • “Anatomy of a Fall,” Justine Triet, Arthur Harari – WINNER
  • “May December,” Samy Burch
  • “R.M.N.,” Cristian Mungiu
  • “The Zone of Interest,” Jonathan Glazer

Best International Feature

  • “All of Us Strangers”
  • “Anatomy of a Fall” – WINNER
  • “Poor Things”
  • “Tótem”
  • “The Zone of Interest”

Best Documentary Feature

  • “20 Days in Mariupol”
  • “Against the Tide”
  • “Apolonia, Apolonia”
  • “Four Daughters” – WINNER
  • “Our Body”

Breakthrough Director

  • Raven Jackson, “All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt”
  • Georgia Oakley, “Blue Jean”
  • Michelle Garza Cervera, “Huesera”
  • Celine Song, “Past Lives”
  • A.V. Rockwell, “A Thousand and One” – WINNER

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

  • Jacob Anderson, “Anne Rice’s Interview With the Vampire”
  • Dominique Fishback, “Swarm”
  • Jharrel Jerome, “I’m a Virgo”
  • Natasha Lyonne, “Poker Face”
  • Bel Powley, “A Small Light”
  • Bella Ramsey, “The Last of Us”
  • Chaske Spencer, “The English”
  • Rachel Weisz, “Dead Ringers”
  • Ali Wong, “Beef” – WINNER
  • Steven Yeun, “Beef”

Breakthrough Television Over 40 Minutes

  • “Anne Rice’s Interview With the Vampire”
  • “Dead Ringers”
  • “The English”
  • “The Last of Us”
  • “A Small Light” – WINNER
  • “Telemarketers”

Breakthrough Television Under 40 Minutes

  • “Beef” – WINNER
  • “High School”
  • “I’m A Virgo”
  • “Rain Dogs”
  • “Swarm”

Share This Post