2024 U.S. Open: How Much Money Each Player Earns from the Historic Purse

2024 U.S. Open: How Much Money Each Player Earns from the Historic Purse

Like all major championships, the prize money for the U.S. Open 2024 has increased significantly in recent years, and this year it has jumped even higher.

Thanks to the introduction of the LIV and flagship events to the PGA Tour, prize money in professional golf has increased astronomically overall. But major championships have their own history of not lagging behind their neighbors.

Just three years ago, in 2021, the U.S. Open’s total prize money was set at $12.5 million, the highest among the four majors. Two years ago, the 2022 U.S. Open prize money was raised by $5 million to $17.5 million. And last year, the prize money for the 2023 U.S. Open increased again, to a whopping $20 million, up $2.5 million from the previous year. (The Players Championship remains golf’s highest prize, at $25 million in total.)

This year, the prize money for the 2024 U.S. Open has been increased again, by $1.5 million to a total of $21.5 million. If you’re keeping score at home, the math can be quite surprising. In just three years, the U.S. Open prize money has increased by $9 million, which equates to 72 percent.

This means that the winner’s share of the prize money will also increase quite significantly. This year’s U.S. Open winner will receive $4.3 million in total, $700,000 more than the 2023 winner Wyndham Clark, making it the highest amount ever for a major winner. The second place winner will receive a whopping $2.322 million, the third place winner $1.445 million, and the fourth place winner will also reach seven figures with a prize of $1.013 million.

Players who do not win will also be given a payout of $10,000 each. So how much did the other players in the field earn this year? A complete list of each player’s payouts for the 2024 U.S. Open can be found below.

How much money every player made at the 2024 U.S. Open

Win: Bryson DeChambeau, $4,300,000

2. Rory McIlroy, $2,322,000

T3. Tony Finau
Patrick Cantlay, $1,229,051

5. Matthieu Pavon, $843,765

6. Hideki Matsuyama, $748,154

T7. Russell Henley
Xander Schauffele, $639,289

T9. Sam Burns
Davis Thompson
Corey Connors, $502,391

T12. Sergio Garcia
Ludvig Aberg, $409,279

T14. Thomas Detry
Collin Morikawa, $351,581

T16. Tommy Fleetwood
Akshay Bhatia
Taylor Pendrith, $299,218

19. Shane Lowry
Aaron Rai, $255,759

T21. Max Greyserman
Daniel Berger
Min Woo Lee
Stephan Jaeger
Brian Harman, $203,607

T26. Brooks Koepka
Zac Blair
Chris Kirk
Neal Shipley (a)
Tom Kim
Tyrrell Hatton, $153,281

T32. Adam Scott
Si Woo Kim
Sahith Theegala
Keegan Bradley
Isaiah Salinda
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Cameron Smith
J.T. Poston
Denny McCarthy, $126,901

T41. Frankie Capan III
Harris English
Jordan Spieth
Scottie Scheffler
Tom McKibbin
Tim Widing
Emiliano Grillo
Billy Horschel
Luke Clanton (a), $72,305

T50. Justin Lower
Matt Kuchar
Nicolai Hojgaard
Mark Hubbard, $51,065

54. Nico Echavarria, $47,370

55. David Puig, $46,501

T56. Seonghyeon Kim
Ben Kohles
Ryan Fox
Sepp Straka
Greyson Sigg
Brian Campbell
Adam Svensson
Wyndham Clark, $44,546

T64. Matthew Fitzpatrick
Francesco Molinari
Martin Kaymer, $42,155

T67. Cameron Young
Brendon Todd, $41,286

69. Dean Burmester, $40,417

T70. Gunner Broin (a)
Brandon Wu, $39,982

72. Sam Bennett, $39,548

73. Jackson Suber, $39,113

74. Austin Eckroat, $38,678

Share This Post